Accepting Submissions For Toronto to Detroit Mixtape

It’s been a few years since I’ve done this (with a couple projects that fell through in between), but it’s time that MCHH releases another mixtape (or compilation as I am no DJ). The idea for this one is Toronto to Detroit, so you K/W, London and Windsor people will want to pay attention, too.

The plan is to have around 20 tracks, with the majority (12-15) being by Toronto artists, of course, and with the goal of producing a mixtape monthly or bi-monthly. Future editions may or may not follow the same format. I may decide to switch cities. Or not. We’ll see how it goes.

Submissions will be open to everyone who lives in or between Toronto and Detroit. When submitting music, please send a download link so my inbox doesn’t fill up too quick. Also include your name, any featured artists, producer’s name, etc. WAV files are appreciated. Feel free to send 2-3 tracks that you’re trying to push if you can’t decide on one as I really don’t have time to listen to full albums to pick out tracks.

This mixtape will be made available for free, so keep that in mind when submitting tracks.

One other rule: no dubs. Original production only.

Also, for any visual artists/graphic designers who may be reading this, I will be looking for a cover this.

Submissions can be sent to

The deadline is April 21st.

As always, if there are questions, just ask.

JD Era releases Barz Volume One mixtape


After releasing a new track every Friday for 9 weeks straight, JD Era released the follow-up to 2012’s No Handouts, Barz Volume One. Barz, which was mixed by DJ TLO and plays as one track, features appearances from Raekwon, Ghostface Killah, RZA, Tony Touch, Scott King and more.

01. Intro
02. Rice in Chinatown (Prod. Fastlife Productions)
03. Canucks
04. Jeeps
05. More Wins
06. 1 Train
07. That Ain’t My Style (Prod. RoadsArt)
08. Who Do You Love ft. Scott King
09. März Barz
10. Trophies
11. Unorthodox ft. Raekwon, Ghostface Killah, RZA & Tony Touch
12. Break From Toronto (SAUGA mix)
13. Man Of The Year
14. Waste My Time
15. Love and Pain ft. Jmsn & Kaytranada
16. Candy aka Sweeet ft. Cameo
17. Wu-Tang Forever Tribute

DOWNLOAD: JD Era – Barz Volume One (Soundcloud)

Yang releases How 2 $ell Your $oul beat tape


How 2 $ell Your $oul is the debut project from producer/rapper, Yang, of Brampton.

The first project put out by producer/rapper Yang, ‘HOW 2 $ELL YOUR $OUL’ is a beattape that critics say have challenged “the traditional meaning of a ‘beat-tape.'” This is a project that tells a story, and consists of over an hour of beats that will take you through the different layers of the young artist’s mind. The good & the bad, the ignorant & the wise, the yin & the yang.

DOWNLOAD: Yang – How 2 $ell Your $oul (Bandcamp)