[Audio] King Reign – Chemical Romance (prod. Agile)


The third release off of King Reign’s upcoming album, Sincere. Produced by Agile.

Chemical Romance is the story of a pimp and his property. It explores the toxic relationship that eventually causes the pimp to lose his prize possession. King Reign shows how much of an influence Slick Rick has been on his style on this one. He tells the raw story and as he’s done in the past leaves the listener with a different perspective. The beat produced by @DJAgile, the song is reminiscent of a Motown joint over some 2014 drums. Reign sings the hook that proclaims “with him she never had a chance at love” as what sounds like a barbershop quartet backs him up.

[Video] King Reign – Killer

“Killer” is the first single off of King Reign’s upcoming album, Sincere. The video was directed by King Reign and Paulo Rubio.

King Reign is a Toronto based hiphop artist who examines the potential consequences of Mayor Rob Ford’s actions. This song expresses frustration at biased perceptions, racial stereotypes, political deception and misunderstandings based on generalizations and assumptions.

[Audio] King Reign – Killer (prod. Gameboy)


“Killer” is the latest single from King Reign. The track features production from Gameboy and cuts by DJ Grouch.

Here is my first single “Killer” off upcoming album called “Sincere”! This is a story that represents the angst of growing up a target based on misconceptions and racial stereotypes. Speaking on the aspect of being a victim of circumstances and shedding light on living in a world where beauty is skin deep, where often judgments are made in haste based on our outer appearances. “Killer” describes the struggle many face as they tread a thin line between love and hate. Referencing Trayvon Martin, the judicial system, and the political system. Killer features production from Gameboy and scratches from Toronto’s DJ Grouch.

[Audio] King Reign – Grey (ft. Shi Wisdom) (prod. King Reign)


“Grey,” featuring Shi Wisdom, is a remix of Rihanna’s “Stay” that will appear on King Reign’s upcoming free EP Reign Music Vol. 2.

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

DOWNLOAD: King Reign – “Grey” (Soundcloud)

Maestro releases new album, Orchestrated Noise


As I mentioned in the last post, Maestro released his new album Orchestrated Noise on Tuesday. This is the 7th LP from Maestro over his 25 years in hip hop and it features artists from a variety of genres including Kardinal Offishall, Sam Roberts, The Trews, Divine Brown, Classified, Saidah Baba Talibah, Glenn Lewis and opera singer Measha Brueggergosman. Fellow hip hop legends Sadat X, Kool G Rap and Chuck D also make appearances. Production credits include Gameboy, Lord Quest, Rezza Brothers, Vanguards, Tone Mason, Classified, Rich Kidd, Bix and Saukrates.

1. Look for Me in the Whirlwind ft. King Reign and Saukrates
2. Gladiator ft. Rich Kidd
3. Symphonia Destino ft. Measha Brueggergosman
4. Dearly Departed ft. Kardinal Offishall
5. Desire ft. Lights
6. History Repeated ft. Sam Roberts
7. See You on the Weekend ft. Sadat X and Glenn Lewis
8. Black Trudeau (Rap Prime Minister)
9. The Conversation ft. King Reign
10. Salute (Additional Vocals by Chuck D)
11. Reach for the Sky (Try) ft. Classified
12. I Wanna Know ft. The Trews
13. Longevity (Get Up Remix) ft. Adam Bomb
14. Timeless ft. Divine Brown
15. Stranger ft. Saukrates
16. Pyramids in the Sand ft. k-os, Rezza Brothers
and Saidah Baba Talibah

Born Original ft. E.D.G.E
Legendary ft. Kool G. Rap and Rezza Brothers

PURCHASE: Maestro Fresh Wes – Orchestrated Noise (iTunes)